Government and Politics of Assam

Government of Assam

Government of Assam is regional ruling authority of Assam. Governor is the head of Assam state. Currently Mr. Janaki Ballabh Patnaik is the governor of the state. Chief Minister of Assam is the head of the government.  Tarun Gogoi is present Chief Minister of Assam. He is also the leader of the legislative party sitting in the treasury bench.  Assam Legislative Assembly consists of 126 elected members or legislators. After every five years, Assembly elections takes place in the state. Council of ministers helps the state Chief Minister in running the government.

National Parties in Assam

Assam is located in the north eastern part of India and have a significant importance in Indian Politics. The state always stand in the front position, when politics is concerned. It is significantly plagued by the ULFA strikes and other radical activities carried out by this separatist organization.

The important national level political parties that dictate the political state of affairs in Assam are :

Council of Ministers

For the welfare of Assam, Council of Ministers works with the Chief Minister of Assam. A list of the ministries of Assam is as follows :

  • Ministry of Revenue, relief and rehabilitation, Implementation of Assam Accord and Administrative Reforms and Training
  • Ministry of Agriculture and Welfare of Plains Tribes and Backward Classes
  • Ministry of Urban development and housing
  • Ministry of Hill Areas, Mines & Minerals and Veterinary
  • Ministry of Water Resources and Parliamentary Affairs
  • Ministry of Co-operation and Cultural Affairs
  • Ministry of Excise and Border Areas
  • Ministry of Food and Civil Supplies, Minorities Welfare and Development and Haj Affairs
  • Ministry of Elementary Education, Secondary Education and Higher Education
  • Ministry of Panchayat and Rural Development and Transport
  • Ministry of Environment and Forests, Tourism, Printing and Stationary and Information and Public Relations
  • Ministry of Planning and Development, Labor and Employment, and Tea Tribes Welfare
  • Ministry of Social Welfare and Jails
  • Ministry of Irrigation, Soil Conservation and Fishery
  • Ministry of Industries & Commerce, Power (Electricity), Public Enterprises
  • Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Guwahati Development, Information Technology, and Science & Technology
  • Ministry of Textile and Sericulture, Judicial and Legislative

Current Governor of Assam

On 12th December 2014, Shri Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya took additional charge as Governor of Assam. He is also the Governor of Nagaland. Acharya replaced Janaki Ballabh Patnaik, who served as Governor of Assam from December 11, 2009 to December 11, 2014.

  • Agriculture Department
  • Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Department
  • Assam Accord Department
  • Civil Works Department
  • Border Areas Department
  • Cultural Affairs Department
  • Cooperation Department
  • Directorate of Financial Inspections, Assam
  • Directorate of Technical Education, Assam
  • Education Department
  • Directorate of Financial Inspections, Assam
  • Excise Department
  • Election Department
  • Revenue Department
  • Finance Department
  • Electricity Department
  • Fishery Department
  • Forest Department
  • Food & Civil Supplies Department
  • Guwahati Development Department
  • General Administration Department
  • Information Technology Department
  • Social Welfare Department
  • Hill Areas Department
  • Hand-loom Textiles & Sericulture Department
  • Welfare of Plains Tribes and Backward Classes Department
  • Science and Technology Department
  • Transport Department
  • Registration Department
  • Tribes Welfare Department
  • Public Works Department
  • Public Health Engineering Department
  • Irrigation Department
  • Soil Conservation Department
  • Judicial Department
  • Panchayat and Rural Development Department
  • Passport Department
  • Personnel Department
  • Planning and Development Department
  • Relief and Rehabilitation Department

Assembly Constituencies in Assam 

In 1937, in Assam, there were 108 assembly constituencies. It reduced to 105 in 1957. Since 1962, the assembly seats were increased to 114. Since 1972, assembly constituencies has become 126. Among these seats, 16 seats have been reserved for scheduled tribe candidates and 8 have been reserved for scheduled caste candidates.


  • The Indian Elections brings to you every bit of elections as they happen. We provide up-to-date news, accurate maps, critical analysis, and facts on the various Assembly / parliament elections / by-elections in India. The Indian Elections is comprehensive knowledge base of electoral system of India. We offer the best platform to acquire insight and take an informed decision about your electoral power. Keep updated.

    Most Popular

    Subscribe Now

    Copyright © 2016 The Indian Elections.   About Us | Authors | Contact Us

    To Top