West Bengal Elections

Bengal goes for 4th phase of polling today

Bengal goes for 4th phase of polling today

West Bengal’s Assembly poll’s fourth phase will decide the future of the ministers of the TMC, the 4th phase will began this morning with exceptional security arrangements.

In North 24 Parganas district, which includes Bidhan Nagar, and Howrah district, in front of 12,500 polling stations voters were seen to line up as the polling started at 7 a.m. till 6 p.m in the evening the voting will continue.

Approximately 1.08 crore voters, were eligible to cast their votes,that will decide the future of the 345 candidates which includes  Amit Mitra, Purnendu Basu, Chandrima Bhattacharya, Bratya Basu, Jyotipriyo Mullick and Aroop Roy, TMC ministers.

Only 40 candidates are women, out of all the contestants.

In polling third phase, the reports tells that at least one worker is dead from CPI(M) so the Election Commission had made exceptional security arrangements for this phase.

90,000 security personnel, which includes the armed forces together have been deployed. For the first time during the elections, patrolling in the river and in the night was done.

In the northern part of city, in Bidhannagar in Salt lake area special focus is given.

You may also like : Repolling on two booths on april 11 in Bengal

The central force includes 672 companies that will be assisted by police team which includes 22,000 state police personnel.

5 police observers of all IAS ranks have been deployed in the 2 districts in order to keep a strict vigil on the situation of law and order.

The additional monitoring work will be done by the teams of 1100 of mobile surveillance.

You May Also Like :  Expects Big Gains in Bengal Assembly Polls day after Violence in Malda –BJP

As per electorate inputs, from around 1500 trouble mongers, around 5500 voters had received the threats and intimidation and have been identified as the voters who are vulnerable.

District authorities have arrested by 1400 of the history-sheeter.

Madan Mitra,  former Transport and Sports minister will be contesting from Kamarhati seat in North 24 Parganas district.

In December 2014, CBI arrested  Madan Mitra because of the multi-core rupee Saradha chit fund scam. From jail, this is the first time that a high-profile candidate is fighting elections in West Bengal.

Besides being a voter whose registered, he will not be able to cast his vote because of incarceration.

Vaishali, daughter of BCCI President Jagmohan Dalmiya and  Laxmi Ratan Shukla, former Bengal cricket captain both of them are contesting on the tickets of TMC.

Rupa Ganguly of BJP , from north Howrah seat is contesting against Laxmi Ratan Shukla.

Dipendu Biswas, Footballer has been supported from south Basirhat seat that is defended by Shamik Bhattacharya,  BJP’s lone sitting MLA .

Sabyasachi Dutta, Bidhannagar Mayor from Rajarhat New Town is fighting for his seat.

Syndicate Raj‘  (local real estate cartel), Saradha chit fund scam, Narada sting operation these issues dominate the poll of this campaign.

On April 30  and  May 5  of Bengal election, of the six phase, the 2 phases will be held and the results will be announced on  May 19.

  • Comments
  • The Indian Elections brings to you every bit of elections as they happen. We provide up-to-date news, accurate maps, critical analysis, and facts on the various Assembly / parliament elections / by-elections in India. The Indian Elections is comprehensive knowledge base of electoral system of India. We offer the best platform to acquire insight and take an informed decision about your electoral power. Keep updated.

    Most Popular

    Subscribe Now

    Copyright © 2016 The Indian Elections.   About Us | Authors | Contact Us

    To Top