President of India

Current President of India


The 13th and Current President of India is Pranab Mukherjee. On July 25th, 2012, he joined office. Pranab Mukherjee is a congress veteran who has served positions both in the government and when was in opposition .In the government, he has held high portfolio that includes Finance, Defence & Foreign Ministry. He holds a masters degree in History & Political Science and in Law. In 1969, he got a break in politics. With the help of Indira Gandhi,he was nominated in Rajya Sabha.

In the 80s,he left Congress to form his own Party, Rashtriya Samajwadi Party, and in 1969 merged the party with the Congress. For next two decades he was a prominent face and a key troubleshooter in the party.By winning 70% of the electoral-college vote, PA Sangma was defeated by Pranab Mukherjee,once he was nominated by by the UPA for President’s chair.

President of India is the head of the legislature, judiciary and executive of India. There should be President of India as per the Constitution of India, Article 52. All Union executive powers will be exercised by him directly or indirectly by him through the subordinated officers to him as per Article 53.

Election of the President

The election of the President as per the Article 54 of the Indian Constitution states that Indian President is elected by the members of an electoral college from the State’s Legislative Assembly,Houses of the Parliament and Union Territories of Delhi and Pondicherry. President of India can be re-elected in the office. Chief Justice of India, administers the oath of the President and if he is not present then it is administered by the Supreme court’s most senior judge.


  • Article 58 of the Indian Constitution says that the presidential candidate must:
  • Be a citizen of India
  • Have completed the age of thirty-five years.
  • Be qualified for elections as a member of the Lok Sabha.
  • Not hold any office of profit under the Union or any State government, or any local or other authority.

Term of office

For a period of 5 years, from the date President takes up his post,the President shall hold office says the Constitution of India,Article 56.By giving his resignation to the Vice-President of India, he may resign from the office. Even by giving his resignation,he still have to continue to be in office until a new President is elected via an election.

Article 61 provides for the manner in which he can be impeached on the violation of the Constitution. On grounds of President’s death, resignation or impeachment or otherwise if his office falls vacant, Vice-President acts as his substitute.

Within 6 months of President’s office falling vacant,his vacancy must be filled by an election.

Impeachment of President

Impeachment is the process to remove the President of India from his office before his term expires. If the Indian Constitution is violated by the President and in the two houses of the Parliament proceedings can be initiated .Two-thirds majority is required to pass the resolution in the House. Thereafter, a notice signed by a quarter of the members of the House and containing the charges is sent to the President. By the other House, after 14 days the charges are taken into consideration, President can defend himself in the meantime. By the second House, if charges are approved, President is said to have been impeached, he has to leave his office.

Powers of President

The President of India is vested with the Executive, Legislative, Emergency, Diplomatic, Judicial and Military powers.

Executive powers

All the executive powers of the Union shall be vested in him. In accordance with the Indian Constitution his powers will be exercised by him. Council of Ministers and Prime Minister is appointed by him. Supreme Court judges, High Courts in the states ,the Attorney General and Comptroller and auditor General of India are also appointed by him. President of India can also pardon the death sentence awarded to a convict.

Legislative powers

Lok Sabha session can be ended by him in the Parliament. The first session of the Parliament can be addressed by him every year. In Rajya Sabha, 12 members can be nominated. In the fields of science, art, literature and social service they must have extra ordinary accomplishments. From the Anglo-Indian Community, 2 members can also be nominated by him to the Lok Sabha. When a bill is passed by the Parliament, the President can give or withhold his assent to it. He can also return it to the Parliament, unless it’s a Money Bill or a Constitutional Amendment Bill.

Emergency powers

He can declare national, state and financial emergency. National emergency can be declared if in the country there is war, external aggression or armed rebellion. It can be done if there is written request of the Cabinet Ministers after the proclamation has been approved by the Parliament. If in a state, it fails to run constitutionally then State emergency is declared. In the country, if there is financial instability then it can be declared as Financial emergency.

Financial powers

In the Parliament,a money bill can only be introduced if it is recommended by President. He lays the Union budget before the Parliament and makes advances out of the Contingency Fund.

Diplomatic, Military and Judicial powers

He appoints ambassadors and high commissioners to other countries. On his behalf, All international treaties are signed. He can declare war and conclude peace under Military powers. Chief of Army, Navy and Air Force is appointed by him. He can dismiss judges if two-third majority of the members present of the two Houses of the Parliament pass the resolution to that effect.

Salary and residence of President of India

By the Parliament of India,allowances and salary of the President is fixed. Rs 150000 per month is the current salary of the President. His official residence is Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.

List of Presidents in India

Presidents Birth/Death Start Date End Date
Dr.Rajendra Prasad 1884-1963 01/26/50 05/13/62
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 1888-1975 05/13/62 05/13/67
Zakir Hussain 1897-1969 05/13/67 05/03/69
Varahagiri Venkata Giri 1894-1980 05/03/69 07/20/69
Muhammad Hidayatullah 1905-1992 07/20/69 08/24/69
Varahagiri Venkata Giri 1894-1980 08/24/69 08/24/74
Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 1905-1977 08/24/74 02/11/77
Basappa Danappa Jatti 1912-2002 02/11/77 07/25/77
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 1913-1996 07/25/77 07/25/82
Giani Zail Singh 1916-1994 07/25/82 07/25/87
Ramaswamy Venkataraman 1910-2009 07/25/87 07/25/92
Shankar Dayal Sharma 1918-1999 07/25/92 07/25/97
Kocheril Raman Narayanan 1920-2005 07/25/97 07/25/02
A.P.J. Abdul Kalam 1931-2015 07/25/02 07/25/07
Smt. Pratibha Patil 1934 07/25/07 07/25/12
Pranab Mukherjee 1935 07/25/12 Incumbent
  • The Indian Elections brings to you every bit of elections as they happen. We provide up-to-date news, accurate maps, critical analysis, and facts on the various Assembly / parliament elections / by-elections in India. The Indian Elections is comprehensive knowledge base of electoral system of India. We offer the best platform to acquire insight and take an informed decision about your electoral power. Keep updated.

    Most Popular

    Subscribe Now

    Copyright © 2016 The Indian Elections.   About Us | Authors | Contact Us

    To Top