Kerala Elections

BJP to start campaigning for Assembly Elections in Kerala

BJP to start campaigning for Assembly Elections in Kerala

In Kerala, motivated by the electoral successes recently, and hoping to form an alliance with Bharat Dharma Jana Sena hoping to form an alliance. On a high note, Bhartiya Janta Party will start campaigning and will launch its campaign.

“We will not just open our account in the assembly, we are going to win at least 71 seats,” Kummanam Rajashekeran, the newly-appointed president of the state unit of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), told reporters in Thiruvananthapuram.

On May 16, in state it has been scheduled to start voting and for Legislative Assembly to elect a new 140-member. In the state, Bhartiya Janta Party hopes to make entry in Assembly that gave India in 1957 first Left government.

A list of 100 candidates, Bhartiya Janta Party has already compiled which shows that they’ll contesting for most of 140 seats or all the seats.

Between UDF (the United Democratic Front) which is led by Congress and Left Democratic Front which is led by the CPI(M), in Kerala the power has been alternated in between them.

A number of electoral successes have raised hope of Bhartiya Janta Party. The total number of seats has been doubled as compared to the previous local polls.

In the state, out of 21,871 seats, it won 1,100 seats across the three-tier local body structure.Its vote share counted to about 14 percent.

Thiruvananthapuram Corporation has Bhartiya Janta Party as the main opposition party,it had dethroned Congress to third place.

In Palakkad municipality,CPI (M) and Congress,Bhartiya Janta Party had shocked them by being the single largest party and winning 24 seats.In same municipality there were 15 seats earlier.

You May Also Like :  LDF and UDF Agreement in Kerala says Modi

In the assembly polls of 2011,the share of vote was 6.3 percent and in the polls of Lok Sabha 2014 the share of vote was up by 10.83 per cent, touching the double digit.

Out of the 140 seats,Bhartiya Janta Party has contested for 139 seats ,in the 3 Assembly constituencies 3 candidates got more than 40,000 votes. Bhartiya Janta Party had finished 3rd with a very poor share of vote in the rest of constituencies.

Bhartiya Janta Party had decided to “guard its top field leaders “O Rajagopal, former Union minister of state in the upcoming elections.

“I have decided to contest again as I do not want our opponents to go around saying that I have been replaced in the Nemom constituency,” said Mr Rajagopal.

In the 2011 Assembly polls,in Nemom he had finished second.For 2014 Lok Sabha election Rajagopal contested from constituency of Thiruvananthapuram, finished second.

In alliance with Bharat Dharma Jana Sena,Bhartiya Janta Party hopes to gain. Vellapally Natesan,leader of Hindu Ezhava launched Bharat Dharma Jana Sena in dec 2015.

In Kerala, Hindu Ezhava has a significant presence.

Sree Narayana Dharma Paripalana Yogam (SNDP) which is guided by the teachings of social reformer Sree Narayana Guru, Vellappally is the general secretary.

The Indian Elections brings to you every bit of elections as they happen. We provide up-to-date news, accurate maps, critical analysis, and facts on the various Assembly / parliament elections / by-elections in India. The Indian Elections is comprehensive knowledge base of electoral system of India. We offer the best platform to acquire insight and take an informed decision about your electoral power. Keep updated.

Most Popular

Subscribe Now

Copyright © 2016 The Indian Elections.   About Us | Authors | Contact Us

To Top