Mamata Banerjee

About Mamata Banerjee


Mamata Banerjee, is an Indian politician, is present and 8th Chief Minister of West Bengal, India. In the state, she is the first lady to hold the Chief Minister’s office. After separating from the Indian National Congress In 1997, she became the founder and chairperson of a new party, the All India Trinamool Congress, also known as TMC or AITMC. In Bengal, she is also known as “Didi” (elder sister). In the 2011, Legislative Assembly Elections of West Bengal Banerjee created history with a major victory and displaced Left Front the 34-year-long government led by the Communist Party of India (Marxist).

Mamata Banerjee personal background

In Kolkata, on 5 January 1955, Mamata Banerjee was born in a lower-middle-class Bengali family. Shri Promileswar Banerjee is her father’s name and Smt. Gayatri Devi is her mother’s name.When she was 9 years old, she lost her father. In Kolkata’s Jogomaya Devi College , she did her graduation in history honours and a master’s in Islamic History from the Calcutta University.

She also holds degree from in Education from Kolkata’s Shri Shikshayatan College and a law degree from Kolkata’s Jogesh Chandra Chaudhuri Law College. She is a spinster. Her artistic passion unfolds in self-taught painting and poetry. Her favorite pastimes also include reading, writing and listening to music.

Activities and Achievements of Mamata Banerjee

In 1997, after separating from the Congress Mamata Banerjee successfully formed a new party. All India Trinamool Congress, the new party became the primary the primary opposition party of the then government of West Bengal led by the Communist Party of India (Marxist).

In 2002, she introduced new trains, made extension of a few express train services, increased frequency of some trains, after becoming the minister of railways and also aimed at at developing tourism and also proposed the Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation.

In West Bengal, on 20 October 2005, Banerjee protested against the forcible land acquisition of farmers and agriculturists for industrialization which was led by the by the then Left Front government led by Shri Buddhadev Bhattacharya.

From 31 May 2009 to 19 July 2011, during her second term as Railway Minister, she introduced many non-stop Duronto Express trains that connected major cities, other passenger trains, and ladies-special trains .

In the 2011 Legislative Assembly Elections of West Bengal , the Alliance of All India Trinamool Congress, the Indian National Congress, and SUCI won 227 seats. 184 seats were won by TMC, 42 by INC and 1 by SUCI, resulting in dethroning of the Left Front from power. An end of the 34-year-long Left Front government was seen on 20 May 2011, when she became first woman Chief Minister of West Bengal.

Books by Mamata Banerjee in Bengali

  • Upalabdhi
  • Maa-Mati-Manush
  • Janatar Darbare
  • Manavik
  • Motherland
  • Anubhuti
  • Trinamool
  • Janmaini
  • Ashubho Shanket
  • Jago Banglaa
  • Ganotantre Lajja
  • Andolaner Katha
8th Chief Minister of West Bengal
Assumed office 20 May 2011
Governor M. K. Narayanan,D. Y. Patil (Acting),Keshari Nath Tripathi
Preceded by Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee
Minister of Railways
In office 22 May 2009 – 19 May 2011
Preceded by Lalu Prasad Yadav
Succeeded by Dinesh Trivedi
Member of Parliament for Kolkata Dakshin
In office 1991–2011
Preceded by Biplab Dasgupta
Succeeded by Subrata Bakshi
Member of Parliament for Jadavpur
In office 1984–1989
Preceded by Somnath Chatterjee
Succeeded by Malini Bhattacharya
Member of the West Bengal Legislative Assembly for Bhabanipur
Preceded by Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee
Personal details
Born 5 January 1955 (age 61),Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Nationality Indian
Political party All India Trinamool Congress (1997–Present)
Other political affiliations Indian National Congress (Before 1997)
Religion Hinduism
Residence Harish Chatterjee Street, Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Alma mater University of Calcutta
Profession Politician
  • The Indian Elections brings to you every bit of elections as they happen. We provide up-to-date news, accurate maps, critical analysis, and facts on the various Assembly / parliament elections / by-elections in India. The Indian Elections is comprehensive knowledge base of electoral system of India. We offer the best platform to acquire insight and take an informed decision about your electoral power. Keep updated.

    Most Popular

    Subscribe Now

    Copyright © 2016 The Indian Elections.   About Us | Authors | Contact Us

    To Top