About Mayawati


Mayawati is an Indian politician and is a member of of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) of Uttar Pradesh. For four times, she has served as the the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. BSP focuses on the improvement, development and welfare of the Bahujans or Dalits, along with other religious minorities and backward classes. On 7 March 2012 , Mayawati resigned from party leader after facing defeat in 2012 to the Samajwadi Party in the Legislative Assembly elections.

Personal background of Mayawati

On 15 January 1956, Mayawati was born in Delhi’s Shrimati Sucheta Kriplani Hospital. Her father name is Shri Prabhu Das, who was who was a postal employee at Badalpur in Gautam Buddha Nagar and her mother name is Ram Rati. She studied in government schools, along with other girls in the family and the boys of her family studied in in private schools.

In 1975, from Kalindi Women’s College and Law Faculty, Campus Law Centre, that falls under the Delhi University.

In 1976, from VMLG College at Ghaziabad, she got a degree in B. Ed. In 1983, she did her LL.B. from Delhi University and wanted to become as IAS officer.

Mayawati and politics

  • In 1989, Kanshi Ram , Dalit politician formed the Bahujan Samaj Party and Mayawati was a member of the party. For the very first time , In the 9th Lok Sabha General Elections, Mayawati and the party contested and Mayawati became the member of the Parliament.
  • In April 1994, Mayawati became a member of the Rajya Sabha or the Upper House of the Parliament.
  • In June 1995, Mayawati became the first-ever Dalit Woman in India to serve the post of Chief Minister in the state of Uttar Pradesh till 18 October 1995.
  • In 1999, Mayawati became the member of the 13th Lok Sabha.
  • From 1996 to 1998 Mayawati was elected as legislator in the State Assembly.
  • On 21 March 1997, Mayawati became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for the 2nd time till 20 September 1997.
  • On 3 May 2002, she became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for the 3rd time, till 26 August 2002.
  • On 18 September 2003, Mayawati became the National President of Bahujan Samaj Party, following the ill-health of Kanshi Ram.

Books written by Mayawati

  • On 3 June 2000, on the fifth anniversary of the party, Bahujan Samaj Aur Uski Rajniti, released by Shri Kanshi Ram.
  • On 15 January 2006, on the 50th birthday of Mayawati, Mere Sangarshmai Jeevan Evam Bahujan Movement Ka Safarnama, released by Shri Kanshi Ram.
  • On 15 March 2008, on the eve of birth anniversary of Kanshi Ram, A Travelogue of My Struggle-Ridden Life and of Bahujan Samaj was released.
National president of the Bahujan Samaj Party
Assumed office 18 September 2003
Preceded by Kanshi Ram
Member of the Rajya Sabha
Assumed office March 2012
Constituency Uttar Pradesh
17th Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh
In office 3 June 1995 – 18 October 1995
Preceded by Mulayam Singh Yadav
Succeeded by President’s rule
Constituency Harora
In office 21 March 1997 – 21 September 1997
Preceded by President’s rule
Succeeded by Kalyan Singh
Constituency Harora
In office 3 May 2002 – 29 August 2003
Preceded by President’s rule
Succeeded by Mulayam Singh Yadav
In office 13 May 2007 – 7 March 2012
Preceded by Mulayam Singh Yadav
Succeeded by Akhilesh Yadav
Personal details
Born Mayawati Prabhu Das, 15 January 1956 (age 60), New Delhi
Nationality Indian
Political party Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)
Alma mater University of Delhi, Meerut University
Religion Hinduism
Residence Lucknow
Occupation Politician
  • The Indian Elections brings to you every bit of elections as they happen. We provide up-to-date news, accurate maps, critical analysis, and facts on the various Assembly / parliament elections / by-elections in India. The Indian Elections is comprehensive knowledge base of electoral system of India. We offer the best platform to acquire insight and take an informed decision about your electoral power. Keep updated.

    Most Popular

    Subscribe Now

    Copyright © 2016 The Indian Elections.   About Us | Authors | Contact Us

    To Top