Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)

About Bharatiya Janata Party


“Indian People’s Party” or Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), is one of the important parties in India. It strongly adheres to cultural nationalism through social conservatism and integral humanism.BJP is Sangh Parivar’s most important member and Sangh Parivar is very active organisation. In 1980, Bhartiya Janta Party was formed officially under the guidance of the political leaders of Atal Bihari Vajpayee and L.K. Advani. Both of them were members of the Bharatiya Jana Sangh (BJS), the political wing of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), nationalist cultural organisation of independent India.

Both of them were members of the Bharatiya Jana Sangh (BJS), the political wing of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), nationalist cultural organisation of independent India. In 1951 , Dr. Shyama Prasad Mookherjee founded BJS in order to combat the Indian National Congress .It was said to have initiated a number of compromises in the questions of political and cultural integrity and unity of India, such as appeasement policy for Muslims.

Election Symbol and its Significance

“Lotus” is the the Election Symbol of the BJP and is approved by the Election Commission of India. The Lotus is the national flower of India. Many prominent representations of the BJP election are there.

Firstly, the symbol is used to indicate a national identity that the BJP strongly upholds. The BJP’s political ideology is described as cultural nationalism. It is attached to the cultural values of India.

National Executives of BJP

The most impotant leaders of the BJP, who are also their national representatives are :

Atal Bihari Vajpayee : Atal Bihari Vajpayee is the founder and the senior leader of the BJP.
From 1998-2004 , He was also the Prime Minister of India. Currently, he is member of the National Executive Committee and Margdarshak Mandal of BJP.
Narendra Modi: Prime Minister of India, Modi is the ex-Chief Minister of Gujarat. He is also an MP from Varanasi.
L.K. Advani :Senior Leader of BJP-Advani was the Leader of Opposition in the 10th and 14th Lok Sabha sessions respectively. He replaced Atal Bihari Vajpayee as the President of BJP.
Rajnath Singh : He was ex-President of BJP-Singh is currently the Union Minister of Home Affairs. He served as President of BJP twice. His first term was from 2005-2009, and second term from 2013-2014. He has been the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh as well as a Cabinet Minister at the Centre.
Nitin Gadkari : ex- President of the BJP, Gadkari is the present Transport Minister. He was the President of BJP from 2010 to 2013, and was later succeeded by Rajnath Singh.
Sushma Swaraj : He was ex Chief Minister of Delhi-Swaraj is the current Minister of External Affairs in the NDA-led government of India. She has been an MP for six terms in a row.
Arun Jaitley : He is the Minister of Finance and the Minister of Information & Broadcasting in the present government. A notable lawyer by profession, Jaitley is a member of the National Executive Committee of the BJP.

Contact Details

  • Official Website –
  • Head-Office – 11 Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001
  • Information –
  • Contact Numbers – 011-23005700
  • Fax – 011-23005787
  • Email id –
President Amit Shah
Parliamentary Chairperson Narendra Modi
Lok Sabha leader Narendra Modi(Prime Minister)
Rajya Sabha leader Arun Jaitley(Finance Minister)
Founded 6 April 1980 (36 years ago)
Preceded by Bharatiya Jana Sangh Janata Party
Headquarters 11 Ashoka Road,New Delhi 110001
Newspaper Kamal Sandesh
Youth wing Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha
Women’s wing BJP Mahila Morcha
Peasant’s wing BJP Kisan Morcha
Membership 110 million (July 2015)
Ideology Conservatism,Social conservatism,Hindu nationalism,Hindutva,Gandhian socialism,Integral humanism
Political position Right-wing
International affiliation International Democratic Union,Asia Pacific Democrat Union
Colours Saffron
ECI Status National Party
Alliance National Democratic Alliance (NDA)
Seats in Lok Sabha 280 / 545
Seats in Rajya Sabha 47 / 245
Seats in Vidhan Sabhas 1,011 / 4,120
Seats in Vidhan Parishads 72 / 454
  • The Indian Elections brings to you every bit of elections as they happen. We provide up-to-date news, accurate maps, critical analysis, and facts on the various Assembly / parliament elections / by-elections in India. The Indian Elections is comprehensive knowledge base of electoral system of India. We offer the best platform to acquire insight and take an informed decision about your electoral power. Keep updated.

    Most Popular

    Subscribe Now

    Copyright © 2016 The Indian Elections.   About Us | Authors | Contact Us

    To Top