Communist Party of India

About Communist Party of India


Communist Party of India (CPI) is one part of the the Indian Political Parties with a communist ideology. In India, it is one of the oldest party to start the communist movement. CPI started when India was under the severest colonial imperial oppressions. Inspired by the Great October Socialist Revolution in Russia in 1917, and the working-class concurrence under Lenin, this group of young Indian freedom fighters wanted grasp the the ideal of Marxism

CPI’s militant and revolutionary spirits was inclined towards to improve the of the working-class dreadful conditions in India. Against the imperialist forces, CPI had worked together with the workers, peasants, trade unions and laborers as a part of class struggle.

Election Symbol and its Significance

Ears of Corn and a sickle is the election symbol of CPI. The symbol is depicted in Red- Colored Flag, this is the color of struggle symbolizing a communist party. Ears of corn and a sickle shows the CPI is a party of the peasants, of farmers, or laborers, who work in the fields and earn a living. Which shows the conditions of the working class. In order to cut corn and all other crops in the field , sickle is used.

Leaders of Communist Party of India

A.B. Bardhan, the former General Secretary of CPI : Ardhendu Bhushan Bardhan,is among the oldest member of CPI is from Nagpur and was part of a number of elections. He was in communist struggle, and was a committed comrade . In 1996, he replaced Indrajit Gupta as a General Secretary.
S.Sudhakar Reddy, the General Secretary of CPI : In 2012, Suravaram Sudhakar Reddy replaced Bardhan for General Secretary. He belongs to Hyderabad and as an MP he represents the Nalgonda constituency of Andhra Pradesh. In India, Reddy has actively participated in a number of historic mass struggles.
Dr. M. Nara Singh, National Executive Member : Singh is currently the State Secretary of the Manipur branch of the CPI. In Manipur, he was former minister and popular among the masses.
Gurudas Dasgupta : In the 15th Lok Sabha, Gurudas Dasgupta was MP and a notable leader of the CPI. Investigating the recent 2G spectrum scandal , he was a member of the Joint Parliamentary Committee.
D.Raja, National Secretary of CPI : He is MP of the Rajya Sabha.’The Way Forward: Fight Against Unemployment’ was written by him.

Contact Details
Official Website of
Head-Office Address of CPI- Ajoy Bhavan, 15, Indrajit Gupta Marg, New Delhi-110002
Contact Numbers-Phone: +91 11 23235546, +91 11 23235099, +91 11 23235058, +91 11 23237972
Fax :+91 11 23235543

Secretary-General Suravaram Sudhakar Reddy
Lok Sabha leader C. N. Jayadevan
Rajya Sabha leader D. Raja
Founded 25 December 1925; 90 years ago
Headquarters New Delhi, India
Newspaper New Age (English),Mukti Sangharsh (Hindi)
Student wing All India Students Federation
Youth wing All India Youth Federation
Women’s wing National Federation of Indian Women
Labour wing All India Trade Union Congress And Bharatiya Khet Mazdoor Union
Peasant’s wing All India Kisan Sabha (Ajoy Bhavan)
Ideology Communism,Marxism-Leninism
Political position Left-wing
International affiliation International Meeting of Communist and Workers’ Parties
ECI Status National Party
Colours Red
Alliance Left Front
Seats in Lok Sabha 1 / 545
Seats in Rajya Sabha 1 / 245
Seats in the Legislative Assembly 13 / 140
  • The Indian Elections brings to you every bit of elections as they happen. We provide up-to-date news, accurate maps, critical analysis, and facts on the various Assembly / parliament elections / by-elections in India. The Indian Elections is comprehensive knowledge base of electoral system of India. We offer the best platform to acquire insight and take an informed decision about your electoral power. Keep updated.

    Most Popular

    Subscribe Now

    Copyright © 2016 The Indian Elections.   About Us | Authors | Contact Us

    To Top