Nationalist Congress Party

About Nationalist Congress Party


Nationalist Congress Party or NCP was formed on On 25th May 1999, when the three leaders of Indian National Congress were expelled out of the party for going against the rights of Italian-born Sonia Gandhi to become the leader of the Indian National Congress and formed a new party. Sharad Pawar, P.A. Sangma and Tariq Anwar were the three leaders who were involved.

In order to form a new party, thousands of their supporters assembled at No. 6, Gurudwara Rakab Ganj Road, New Delhi and this started Red Letter Day of the country.Holiding up the traditons of Congress leaders like Dadabhai Naoroji, Tilak, Jawaharlal Nehru, Annie Besant, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad and others. Sharad Pawar was made the President and P.A Sangma and Tariq Anwar were made the General Secretaries of NCP.

NCP was declared as a National Party by the Election Commission of India. NCP made history, because in such short span of time it has gained the status of National Party.

Election Symbol and its Significance

An analogue clock that reads 10:10 is the election symbol of NCP. An alarm button , clock is drawn in blue and has two legs. No matter how difficult the situation is NCP will keep fighting for its principles throughout.

Leaders of NCP

The leaders of the NCP, who are also their national representatives and executives, are :

Sharad Pawar, President of the Nationalist Congress Party : In the Lok Sabha, Pawar leads the NCP delegation as a Member of the Parliament. Pawar had also served as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra. Currently he is Minister of Agriculture of India and Minister of Food Processing. He also served as the the President of the International Cricket Council.
Tariq Anwar, General Secretary of the Nationalist Congress Party : Tariq Anwar, is a Member of the Parliament, and the present Minister of State for Agriculture. He is also the Founder President of ‘Jan Astha’ and ‘All India Quami Tanzeem’.

Chairperson Sharad Pawar
Headquarters 10, Bishambhar Das Marg, New Delhi, 110001
Student wing Nationalist Student Congress
Youth wing Nationalist Youth Congress
Women’s wing Rasthravadi Yuvati Congress
Ideology Indian nationalism, Civic nationalism, Progressivism, Conservatism
Political position Centrism
Colours Pacific Blue
ECI Status National Party
Alliance Left Democratic Front, Left Front
Seats in Lok Sabha 6 / 543
Seats in Rajya Sabha 6 / 245
Seats in the Legislative Assembly 41 / 288
  • The Indian Elections brings to you every bit of elections as they happen. We provide up-to-date news, accurate maps, critical analysis, and facts on the various Assembly / parliament elections / by-elections in India. The Indian Elections is comprehensive knowledge base of electoral system of India. We offer the best platform to acquire insight and take an informed decision about your electoral power. Keep updated.

    Most Popular

    Subscribe Now

    Copyright © 2016 The Indian Elections.   About Us | Authors | Contact Us

    To Top