Samajwadi Party

History of Samajwadi Party


Samajwadi Party (SP) is a regional party and is also known as the regional political party of India. Its base is in majorly in Uttar Pradesh and also has presence in other states like Karnataka, Bihar, Uttarakhand and Madhya Pradesh. Centrist is the political postion and it operates on Democratic Socialism, Populism and Social Conservatism idelogies.

In Uttar Pradesh, SP works for the socially oppressed sections of the society who live on the margins of mainstream life. Samajwadi Party speaks for the upliftment and economic progress of the minorities, especially the Other Backward Classes (OBCs) and the Muslims, it claims to be democractic party.It also works on on the guiding principles of Secularism, and fights against all communal forces.

Election Symbol of SP

Bicycle is the election symbol of the Samajwadi Party. It is a red and green bi-colored party flag. Red is the colour of struggle and revolutionary ideals. Green is the color of hope and it shows the type of politics in which the SP involves in.The symbol represnts the the true spirit of the party and it also symbolizes the the march of the party towards overall progress and development of the various communities of the state.

Leaders of the Samajwadi Party

The leaders of the Samajwadi Party, who are also the national executives of the party

Mulayam Singh Yadav, Founder-President of SP : Yadav is also known as the ‘Netaji’ among his party. He was also the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh and a former Union Minister of Defence in the United Front. Currently he is a member of the Lok Sabha, representing the Mainpuri constituency of Uttar Pradesh.
Akhilesh Yadav, Uttar Pradesh SP President : Currently, he is Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh and a Lok Sabha member from the constituency of Kannauj.
Abu Asim Azmi, Maharashtra SP President: Azmi was a former Rajya Sabha Member of Parliament, represents Uttar Pradesh. Currently he is an MLA in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.
Azam Khan, National General Secretary of SP: Azam Khan has remained a cabinet minister of the SP-led Uttar Pradesh government twice.
Ram Gopal Yadav, General Secretary and Spokesperson of SP: Ram Gopal Yadav remained a Member of Parliament, representing the Sambhal constituency of Uttar Pradesh in Lok Sabha.
Rajendra Choudhary: Party Spokesperson of Uttar Pradesh.

The Rajya Sabha MPs from the Samajwadi Party are:

  • Jaya Bachchan
  • Saleem Chaudhuri Munawwar
  • Alok Tiwari
  • Naresh Agarwal
  • Arvind Kumar Singh
  • Darshan Singh Yadav
  • Nand Kiranmoy
  • Ram Gopal Yadav
  • Mohan Singh

Samajwadi Party office address and website
Official Website of SP:
Head-Office Address of SP: Samajwadi Party, 18 Copernicus Lane, New Delhi
Contact Number: 011-23386842 Fax: 011-23382430

Chairperson Mulayam Singh Yadav
Secretary-General Kiranmoy Nanda
Lok Sabha leader Mulayam Singh
Rajya Sabha leader Ram Gopal Yadav
Founded 4 October 1992
Headquarters 18 Copernicus Lane, New Delhi
Newspaper Samajwadi Bulletin
Student wing Samajwadi Chatra Sabha
Youth wing Samajwadi Yuvjan Sabha, Mulayam Singh Youth Brigade
Women’s wing Lohiya Vahini Samajwadi Party Mahila Sabha
Ideology Left-wing populism, Democratic socialism
Political position Left-wing
ECI Status State Party
Colours Red
Alliance Left Front (1992-2015), Janata Parivar (2015-present)
Seats in Lok Sabha 5 / 543
Seats in Rajya Sabha 15 / 245
Seats in the Legislative Assembly 231 / 403
  • The Indian Elections brings to you every bit of elections as they happen. We provide up-to-date news, accurate maps, critical analysis, and facts on the various Assembly / parliament elections / by-elections in India. The Indian Elections is comprehensive knowledge base of electoral system of India. We offer the best platform to acquire insight and take an informed decision about your electoral power. Keep updated.

    Most Popular

    Subscribe Now

    Copyright © 2016 The Indian Elections.   About Us | Authors | Contact Us

    To Top