Tamilnadu Elections

DMK fields Jayalaitha’s rival to contest against her

DMK fields Jayalaitha's rival to contest against her

For  May 16 Assembly elections DMK had released a candidate list that retains most of the former ministers and MLAs (sitting) .

Karunanidhi,  Party leader will contest from the constituency of Tiruvarur  in a race to enter the Assembly for the 13th time and M.K. Stalin  will be contesting from the constituency of the  Kolathur. K. Anbazhagan,  party general secretary and after fighting 13 Assembly polls, he opted to retire.

Suba Thangavelan and Coonoor K. Ramachandran and Pushpaleela Alban, 3 sitting MLAs have been denined the nominations. Former Ministers K. Sundaram, S.N.M. Ubayadulla, N. Selvaraj, A. Tamizharasi and N.K.K.P. Raja are also not contesting.

Dr. Poongothai, Minister Aladi Aruna’s daughter got the ticket from Alangulam and S.N. Kanimozhi,  N.V.N. Somu’s daughter late Union Minister got a ticket from T.Nagar in Chennai. S.S. Rajkumar brother of  S.S. Palanimanickam’s , former Union Minister .

A. Rajendran, Veerapandi S. Arumugam’s son and Suba,  Mr. Suba Tha, Thangavelan’s son   Divakar got the ticket.

Shimla Muthuchozhan , daughter-in-law  of S.P. Sargunapandian  former Minister, the party has fielded against the  Jayalalithaa, Chief Minister in the constituency of R.K.Nagar.

You may also like : AIADMK duplicated DMK’s Manifesto : Karunanidhi

P.T.R.P. Thiyagarajan, son of former Speaker P.T.R. Palanivel Rajan is another notable new face, he got ticket from Madhurai.

The former ministers mostly are contesting majorly from their constituencies of home which includes Duraimurugan from Katpadi.  K. Ponmudy is the only exception who shifted from Tirukovilur  to  Villupuram   constituency.

P.T.R.P. Thiyagaraja, son of former Speaker P.T.R. Palanivel Rajan and he got his ticket from  Madurai (Central) constituency.

In 170 constituencies, the party will be contesting against AIADMK rivals .

You May Also Like :  Gurdas Mann Will Be The New State Icon For Punjab Election 2017
  • Comments
  • The Indian Elections brings to you every bit of elections as they happen. We provide up-to-date news, accurate maps, critical analysis, and facts on the various Assembly / parliament elections / by-elections in India. The Indian Elections is comprehensive knowledge base of electoral system of India. We offer the best platform to acquire insight and take an informed decision about your electoral power. Keep updated.

    Most Popular

    Subscribe Now

    Copyright © 2016 The Indian Elections.   About Us | Authors | Contact Us

    To Top