Tamilnadu Elections

DMK lost to AIADMK by a narrow margin: Karunanidhi

DMK lost to AIADMK by a narrow margin

Karunanidhi,  DMK chief said that AIADMK has retained power in Tamil Nadu by only 1.1 vote percentage and his party missed a clear victory by a narrow margin. He also added that DMK will work as “constructive opposition”.

The party in power now had got 4,41,646 votes more than DMK and said the “opportunity to govern was missed narrowly”.

“While AIADMK and allies polled 1,76,17,060 votes, DMK and its allies got 1,71,75,374. That is, AIADMK has got the opportunity to form government by a margin of 1.1 per cent and it is the truth,” Karunanidhi said in a statement.

Citing electoral statistics, including vote share and contested vote share of his party and AIADMK, he said “there was only a very small gap in touching pinnacle of victory.

Referring report published in English daily, which stated that in the share of vote DMK was ahead of AIADMK.

You may also likeExit polls showing rough roads for Jaya, DMK may have the edge

He added that in 172 constituencies where there was a direct fight between AIADMK and DMK, in 89 seats, DMK won and AIADMK won 83 seats.

Out of the total 60 seats, AIADMK won 51 seats that are contested by the allies of DMK which includes the Congress and IUML.

He said that he is saying all this to show that people came in front in order to support DMK and not for blaming the allies.

He added and said that his party would function as a strong opposition given the huge numbers in Tamil Nadu Assembly history.

“DMK has got the opportunity to function as a robust opposition with a never before seen strength in the history of Tamil Nadu,” he said.

DMK-led alliance together had won 98 seats, which is followed by 8 seats of ally Congress and 1 of IUML.

You May Also Like :  Tamil Nadu Power Minister Slams Piyush Goyal For Calling Jaya Inaccessible
  • Comments
  • The Indian Elections brings to you every bit of elections as they happen. We provide up-to-date news, accurate maps, critical analysis, and facts on the various Assembly / parliament elections / by-elections in India. The Indian Elections is comprehensive knowledge base of electoral system of India. We offer the best platform to acquire insight and take an informed decision about your electoral power. Keep updated.

    Most Popular

    Subscribe Now

    Copyright © 2016 The Indian Elections.   About Us | Authors | Contact Us

    To Top