Tamilnadu Elections

Jayalalithaa sets tone for elections, offers seven seats to allies

Jayalalithaa sets tone for elections

Jayalalithaa, chief AIADMK, in Tamil Nadu had alloted 7 seats out of 234 seats and a list of 227 candidates had been announced , there can few minor changes later on.

From R K Nagar, north of Chennai city, Jayalalithaa will be contesting in this area.She had won here with a margin of 1.5 lakh votes,last June.

From April 9 to 12,from R K Nagar, Jayalalithaa will be starting campaiging,party had declared the dates for the same.

C K Tamilarasan (Maduranthagam-reserved), U Thaniarasu (Kangeyam),Tamil Nadu Republican Party leader; Kongu Ilaignar Peravai , Thameeum Ansari (Nagapattinum or Ottanchathiram) Muslim leader ; Sheik Dawood (Kadayanallur) Tamil Maanila Muslim League leader.

In 2014, Tamil Manila Congress, G K Vasan’s party that seperated from Congress and was supposed to be in alliance with AIADMK was not given seat.

Sarathkumar, Actor-turned-politician, whose also the founder AISMK from Tiruchendur in the Kongu belt will be contesting, this constituency have good number of votes of Gounder votes.Karunas, actor-turned-politician ,Mukkulathor Puli Padai is represented by him, a caste organisation,Thevar community, also represented by him, a ticket is given to him.

AIADMK-led alliance in all 234 candidates will be contesting under AIADMK.

O Panneerselvam, Former chief minister and current Finance Minister ; Natham R Viswanathan, Electricity Minister ; R Vaithlingam, Housing Minister ; Gokula Indira, Handloom Minister ; B Valarmathi, Minister for Social Welfare ; are all nominated again.

S P Velumani, Sitting ministers ; Sellur K Raju ; RB Udayakumar ; K T Rajendrabalaji ; Pollachi V Jayaraman , assembly deputy Speaker ; Pollachi V Jayaraman are renominated again. Jayalalithaa has added R Natraj , former DGP.

Parithi Ilamvazhuthi , Former DMK MLA ; Panruti S Ramachandran, former DMDK MLA ; Mafoi K Pandiarajan and M Kalaiarasu , M Kalaiarasu, PMK MLA ; In 2014 who seperated from the AIADMK, also been given tickets. Former PMK MPP, T Elangovan, from Dharmapuri ; S Ramadoss broke up with him and recently joined the AIADMK also got a seat.

You May Also Like :  BJP terms DMK manifesto nothing but all lies

Saidai Duraisamy, AIADMK’s Chennai city mayor,from Kolathur is expected to contest . Chairperson of Tamil Nadu Social Welfare Board and AIADMK spokesperson C R Saraswathy will also be contesting.

In Puducherry, from 30 constituencies AIADMK will also be contesting and from Kerala places like Chittoor, Thiruvananthapuram, Nenmara and Malambuzha in Palakkad district, Udumbanchola, Peerumedu and Devikulam in Idukki district.

“Our plan is to schedule a visit by the chief minister to all districts where voters and candidates would gather from all constituencies,” the leader said. “Mostly, she will fly out from Chennai every day and return in the evening. Each trip is planned in a such a way that she will be on the ground meeting people for at least five to six hours a day.”

April 9-12 , AIADMK declared the dates for campaign for Jayalalithaa and the details are being finalised said by the senior party leader.


The Indian Elections brings to you every bit of elections as they happen. We provide up-to-date news, accurate maps, critical analysis, and facts on the various Assembly / parliament elections / by-elections in India. The Indian Elections is comprehensive knowledge base of electoral system of India. We offer the best platform to acquire insight and take an informed decision about your electoral power. Keep updated.

Most Popular

Subscribe Now

Copyright © 2016 The Indian Elections.   About Us | Authors | Contact Us

To Top