Tamilnadu Elections

Vijaykanth sacks party MLAs who questioned alliance


 Vijayakanth, DMDK chief had terminated 10 senior party members that includes propaganda secretary, from DMDK when they questioned his decision to form an alliance with PWF for Tamil Nadu Assembly polls that will take place on 16 May.

“Since they violated party discipline, besmirched and brought disrepute to the reputation of the party, they are expelled from their respective posts and primary membership of the party,” Vijayakanth said in a statement.

By terminating them immediately, sources of the party said that Vijayakanth had send a a very “stern message that party’s official line should be toed and there was no room for dissent.”

VC Chandrakumar, propaganda secretary, are among the expelled party members and was one of the most important and prominent members of the party.

The problem arrived when VC Chandrakumar went led the other party members which includes two MLAs,questioning and demanding his decision to form an alliance with the People’s Welfare Front (PWF).

It was said that  95 percent of party workers and members were against the  decision to form an alliance with PWF and apparently “an ultimatum” was given to Vijayakanth to go back to his decision by noon and form an alliance with DMK.

Vijayakanth was announced as chief ministerial candidate,Under the DMDK-PWF poll pact. Out of the 234 Assembly seats, his party allotted a vote share of 124 and 110 to  PWF .

 Vijayakanth was charmed by DMK actively,but in a shocking decision , he chose to go to by four-party PWF comprising MDMK led by Vaiko, CPI(M), CPI ,headed by Thol Thirumavalavan-headed VCK.

You May Also Like :  AIADMK duplicated DMK's Manifesto : Karunanidhi

SR Parthiban and CH Sekar are other MLAs that are terminated. CH Sekar is also the Secretary of Tiruvallur East District and SR Parthiban is secretary of Salem West District.

P Murugesan, deputy secretary and KR Veerappan, high level panel member are the other terminated members.

Vijayakanth immediately  had replaced the terminated members by giving names of the new party workers for the same posts.


The Indian Elections brings to you every bit of elections as they happen. We provide up-to-date news, accurate maps, critical analysis, and facts on the various Assembly / parliament elections / by-elections in India. The Indian Elections is comprehensive knowledge base of electoral system of India. We offer the best platform to acquire insight and take an informed decision about your electoral power. Keep updated.

Most Popular

Subscribe Now

Copyright © 2016 The Indian Elections.   About Us | Authors | Contact Us

To Top