Uttar Pradesh Elections

RJD Will Not Contest In UP Elections : Lalu Yadav

RJD Will Not Contest In UP Elections : Lalu Yadav

Lalu Yadav has decided that his party will not contest in Uttar Pradesh Elections. According to the Sources, Lalu Yadav is not contesting elections because his youngest daughter is married into Mulayam Singh Yadav’s family. Samajwadi Party currently is in power.

On record, Lalu has said that he did not want to split the vote in Uttar Pradesh that would accrue to “secular forces” or parties other than the BJP.

Nitish Kumar, Lalu’s political partner is ready to field candidates in the upcoming Uttar Pradesh elections from his Janata Dal-United. 

Nitish Kumar and Lalu Yadav contested Bihar elections together in November. Nitish Kumar got re-elected for a third consecutive term for the CM’s post. RJD, party of Lalu Yadav won more seats. But it serves as junior partner in the government.

Nitish Kumar is planning to campaign on large scale in Uttar Pradesh. Especially in the eastern part of the state which borders Bihar. He was supporting the leaders who had recently quit the BSP.

In Uttar Pradesh, where political strategy is based on caste basis. As per the sources, Nitish Kumar is interested in winning a large a section of the non-Yadav and non-OBC votes. 

The Uttar Pradesh Elections are due next year. The result will be seen as who will be elected as the Prime Minister in 2019. In 2012 Uttar Pradesh elections, neither Lalu nor Nitish Kumar won even a single seat.
21% Dalit population in Uttar Pradesh has been the main vote base of Mayawati. In 2014 general election, people voted for the BJP. The party’s campaign was focused on development and was led by Narendra Modi. Yadavs and Muslims supports Mulayam Singh Yadav. BJP is popular among the upper castes and non-Yadav backward castes. They are also key to the plans of the Congress and Nitish Kumar. Nitish Kumar is open to an alliance with the Congress.

You May Also Like :  On request, Governor recommends early re-polling in 2 Tamil Nadu Constituencies
  • Comments
  • The Indian Elections brings to you every bit of elections as they happen. We provide up-to-date news, accurate maps, critical analysis, and facts on the various Assembly / parliament elections / by-elections in India. The Indian Elections is comprehensive knowledge base of electoral system of India. We offer the best platform to acquire insight and take an informed decision about your electoral power. Keep updated.

    Most Popular

    Subscribe Now

    Copyright © 2016 The Indian Elections.   About Us | Authors | Contact Us

    To Top