Government and Politics of Uttar Pradesh

Government of U.P. is elected democratically in India , the Governor is its Constitutional head. Governor is appointed for a period of 5 years and he appoints the Chief Minister and his council of ministers, who have legislative powers. The governor remains a ceremonial head of the state, Chief Minister and his council are responsible for day-to-day government functions.

Uttar Pradesh has largest number of Lok Sabha seats in Indian Parliament.


Uttar Pradesh is one of the seven states in India that have a bicameral legislature i.e., has 2 houses, the Vidhan Sabha, a legislative assembly, and the Vidhan Parishad, a legislative council.

Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly

It is the lower house. People of U.P. directly selects the members of the legislative assembly . The government is formed by the elected members of the assembly. Election of the Legislative Assembly is held once in five years and is also the tenure of an elected Government. In case the government loses the confidence of the Assembly, a midterm election may become important . In the Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Sabha, there are 403 seats.

Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council 

It is the upper house. In the Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Parishad, there are 100 seats .


Government is headed by the Governor who appoints the Chief Minister and his council of ministers. Governor is appointed for a period of 5 years and acts as the constitutional head of the State.

Even though the governor remains the ceremonial head of the state, everyday running of the government is done by the Chief Minister and his council of ministers who have legislative powers .

Governor’s secretary heads the Secretariat and also assist the council of ministers. The Council of ministers consists of Cabinet Ministers, ministers of state and deputy ministers. the Chief Secretary, who is the head of the administrative services assists the Chief minister.


District Magistrates/ Collectors are the main officers to look after each district for general administration.


There is a high court at Allahabad and its bench is at Lucknow and courts in every district centre and Tehsils centre.


A district of a state is headed by a Deputy Commissioner or District Magistrate, an officer belonging to the Indian Administrative Service. District magistrate or Deputy commissioner is assisted by a number of officers belonging to U.P. Civil Service and other state services.

Deputy Commissioner of Police, an officer belonging to the Indian Police Service is trusted with the responsibility of maintaining law and order and other related issues of the district. He is assisted by the officers of the U.P. Police Service .

A Deputy Conservator of Forests, an officer from the  Indian Forest Service is responsible for managing the forests, the environment, and wildlife-related issues of the district with the assistance of the U.P. Forest Service. Sectoral development is managed after by the district head of each development department such as PWD, Health, Education, Agriculture, animal husbandry, etc. These officers belong to the various State Services.

  • The Indian Elections brings to you every bit of elections as they happen. We provide up-to-date news, accurate maps, critical analysis, and facts on the various Assembly / parliament elections / by-elections in India. The Indian Elections is comprehensive knowledge base of electoral system of India. We offer the best platform to acquire insight and take an informed decision about your electoral power. Keep updated.

    Most Popular

    Subscribe Now

    Copyright © 2016 The Indian Elections.   About Us | Authors | Contact Us

    To Top