Government and Politics of West Bengal

The left front led state government of West Bengal has excelled in many aspects over the years. However it has also faced severe criticism for some of its activities. The politics comprised of the national parties like the Communist Party of India Marxist, CPI, All India Forward Block, Bahujan Samaj Party, the Indian National Congress, the Bharatiya Janata Party, Samajwadi Party, National Congress Party and regional parties like the Trinamool Congress, SUCI, CPIML, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, PDS, JDS, JDU, RSP, etc.

Assembly Constituencies

West Bengal is divided into 294 assembly constituencies. From these assembly constituencies, members of the state legislative assembly are elected .West Bengal has been divided into 294 assembly constituencies in order to ensure sufficient representation of the people in the legislative assembly.

National Political Parties

West Bengal has contributed a lot to Indian politics. West Bengal has always sent capable representatives who have made unforgettable impressions in national level politics. National Political Parties have always shown immense interest in the West Bengal state politics. The major National Political Parties in West Bengal are :

Parliamentary Constituencies

In West Bengal, there are 42 parliamentary constituencies. The members of the parliamentary constituencies of West Bengal are elected to the Lok Sabha or the lower house of legislature of the country. The parliamentary constituencies are distributed all over in the state.

West Bengal Politics

West Bengal has the maximum number of politically aware people. From the time of freedom struggle, West Bengal has led the country in the field of Politics. Many leaders of extraordinary caliber had come from from this state e.g. Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose, Rashbehari Bose, Chittaranjan Das and many others in the post independence era. Politics and West Bengal are synonymous and it is one of the few states in India where people keep their political inclinations in mind, not influenced by religion or caste and then vote .  West Bengal is dived into 42 parliamentary constituencies aand 294 State Legislative Assembly seats.

Many national and regional parties had contested in the election to form the state government. National parties like the Communist Party of India – Marxist, Communist Party of India, Indian National Congress, All India Forward Block, regional parties like Trinamool Congress, SUCI, RSP, PDS, Jharkand Mukti Morcha etc. The highest executive power of the state of West Bengal is with the Governor.

  • The Indian Elections brings to you every bit of elections as they happen. We provide up-to-date news, accurate maps, critical analysis, and facts on the various Assembly / parliament elections / by-elections in India. The Indian Elections is comprehensive knowledge base of electoral system of India. We offer the best platform to acquire insight and take an informed decision about your electoral power. Keep updated.

    Most Popular

    Subscribe Now

    Copyright © 2016 The Indian Elections.   About Us | Authors | Contact Us

    To Top